New Frontier(s)

B-Sides: Music & Other Ephemera

Jun 16, 2010 at 5:00 am
New Frontier(s)
Photo: Jessie Kriech-Higdon

Frontier(s) will release its debut 7-inch The Plains June 29 on No Sleep Records.

The newest vehicle for Elliott/Falling Forward singer Chris Higdon, Frontier(s) also features Matt Wieder (Mouthpiece, The Enkindels) and drummer Eagle Barber (Stay Gold). The two songs on The Plains were recorded by former Elliott and current Wax Fang drummer Kevin Ratterman at The Funeral Home. Limited to a pressing of 1,000 on green, white and black wax, the single includes a free download card.

Frontier(s) will release its debut full-length, There Will Be No Miracles Here, on Arena Rock Recording Co. stateside later this year on CD, and on Arctic Rodeo in Europe. Stream a track at

They also headline Bluegrass Catastrophe at the North Stage on Saturday, July 10, as part of the ninth annual Forecastle Festival. Ticket information is available at

Parlour tricks
Parlour, the mainly instrumental ensemble featuring ex-Crain and Cerebellum chaps Tim Furnish and Jon Cook, will release its new album this fall on temporary Residence. Parlour performs at BCNS on Sunday, July 11.

Hot Country Block
Jimmy Wayne, Steel Magnolia and Easton Corbin are slated to perform as part of Fourth Street Live’s Hot Country Nights Series, which kicks off June 18 and runs through Aug. 27. Twang will alternate with ’90s alt-rock June 19 when the Gin Blossoms kick off Rock The Block Free Concerts. Also on deck are Blues Traveler (July 17) and Sister Hazel (Aug. 14). Concerts are free and all ages. Under 18 must be with an adult.

Music Cast
Noizejoi ( bring soulful acoustic sounds into the offices to discuss their EP, While You’re Waiting, and the release of their upcoming album June 17 at Vernon Club. Listen at Bluegrass Catastrophe,