Beethoven Piano Concerto

“Piano Concerto No. 4 in G Major, Op. 58” is one of Ludwig van Beethoven’s masterpieces, helping to cement his place in music history. “We have to expect the unexpected in this concerto,” said musicologist Mark Rohr, “because Beethoven looks at the form and says, ‘Why, anyone could do that. I believe I’ll do something a bit more fun.’” Pianist Andrew Hsu will be performing the concerto with guest Conductor Courtney Lewis. The program also includes Robert Schumann’s “Symphony No. 2 in C Major, Op. 61” and the overture to the opera “Oberon” by Carl Maria von Weber.


The Kentucky Center
Times vary | $27-$85

About the Author

Beethoven Piano Concerto

Jo Anne Triplett is the contributing visual arts editor at LEO Weekly. She’s a past member of the Mayor’s Advisory Committee on Public Art, was the content advisor on the Glassworks Building video, and has written for Louisville Magazine, Kentucky Homes and Gardens and the national publication Glass Craftsman. Jo Anne came to Louisville from Washington, D.C. where she worked as a researcher and writer for the Smithsonian American Art Museum.



All Articles by this Author >