The art of giving for the holidays: Where to find art sales, events and exhibitions during the holidays

Nov 23, 2016 at 8:12 am
The art of giving for the holidays: Where to find art sales, events and exhibitions during the holidays
Art by Sam English

Before you can make like Tiny Tim from “A Christmas Carol” and proclaim, “A Merry Christmas to us all,” you need presents. And they had better be good ones.

Let me help.

Below is a partial list of art-related holiday sales, events and exhibitions to get you in the spirit (dates are subject to change).

Nov. 25 is the next F.A.T. Friday Trolley Hop (fatfridayhop.org).

The LOCALS pottery group is having their popular Annual Holiday Pottery Sale this year on Saturday, Nov. 26 at the Clifton Center (louisvillepotters.com). Zephyr Gallery is presenting a salon-style Holiday Art Market on that date as well (zephyrgallery.org). The store at the Speed Art Museum is holding its holiday sale through Nov. 26 (speedmuseum.org).

The Kentucky Museum of Art and Craft’s (kmacmuseum.org) annual holiday shopping event, Martinis & Mistletoe, is Thursday, Dec. 1.

The Republic Bank First Friday Hop (firstfridayhop.com) is Dec. 2.

Held this year on Dec. 2-3, the 26th annual WinterFair! is an indoor art festival at Thomas Jefferson Unitarian Church (tjuc.org/winterfair).

Saturday, Dec. 3, is a busy day indeed.  Bardstown Road Aglow (thehighlandsoflouisville.com) is on that date as well as when AA Clay Studio & Gallery is holding its holiday sale and ornament-workshop (aaclay.com).

“Christmastide at Locust Grove” (locustgrove.org) is Dec. 3, with the house decorated as it would have been in 1816.

High tea at a historic home is a holiday highlight. The Conrad-Caldwell House Museum (conrad-caldwell.org) is serving up its 10th Annual Victorian Tea, in conjunction with the Old Louisville Holiday Home Tour, on Dec. 3-4. The Victorian Christmas Tea at Whitehall is on Dec. 3 (historicwhitehall.org).

The Christmas Open House at the Derby City Antique Mall is also on Dec. 3 (derbycityantiuqemall.com). Crazy Daisy’s Holiday Open House is Sunday, Dec. 4 (crazydaisyantiquemall.com).

The 25th Annual Holiday Sale at the Portland Museum is Sunday, Dec. 4 (goportland.org).

E&S Gallery (eandsgallery.com) holds  a Holiday Open House on Friday, Dec. 9.

The Umpteenth Annual $20 Art Show, presented by the World’s Second Most Awesome Art Market, is at Copper & Kings Distillery (copperandkings.com) on Saturday, Dec. 10.

The Holiday Open House Fundraiser at the Kentucky Fine Art Gallery is on Thursday, Dec. 15. The gallery artists (Jaime Corum, Lynn Dunbar, Sam English, Robert Halliday and David O. Schuster) will be donating 10 percent of their sales to the Norton Kosair Children’s Hospital (kentuckyfineartgallery.com).

The Tim Faulkner Gallery (timfaulknergalleryart.com) has its Annual Holiday Group Show Dec. 18-Jan. 13.

Glass ornaments are always popular. Appointments to blow-your-own are available at Hyland Glass (hylandglass.com) through Dec. 21. Studio Gordon (studiogordon.com) is featuring carved glass snowflakes through December. Flame Run at Glassworks (flamerun.com) also does DIY ornaments and is taking reservations through Dec. 30 (while you’re there, visit their exhibition “Holiday Jubilee” on display through Jan. 27).

This year’s holiday exhibition at Galerie Hertz features Rachel Ray and runs through Dec. 31 (galeriehertz.com).

“White Christmas: The Exhibit” is back again this year at the Frazier History Museum through Jan. 8 (fraziermuseum.org). •