Every Louisville Photo Biennial Event You Can Attend This Year

Editor’s Note: This story was updated on Oct. 9, 2021.

The Photo Biennial has been around since 1999. What was once a dream by former Artemisia owner Erin Devine was almost lost until Paul Paletti stepped in and took the helm. Now despite the setbacks of the pandemic, Paletti has found a way to steer the Biennial forward — with the cooperation of a lot of people and organizations. This year, the Biennial kicked off on Sept. 9 and runs through Nov. 6. Here is a list of the remaining events.

October 2021

Sunday, Oct. 10
FotoFocus Symposium, Cincinnati, Ohio, Memorial Hall, 1225 Elm St., hours TBA

Thursday, Oct. 14
Artist Talk Portland Museum, 5 p.m.
Guided Art Tour 21c Museum Hotel, 5-6 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 15
Artist Opening Reception Moremen Gallery, 5-8 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 16
DSLR Workshop Bourne-Schweitzer, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
Poetry Reading Missy Brownson Jane Chancellor Moore Gallery, 12 p.m.
Meet the Artist Edenside Gallery, 1-4 p.m.
Artist Reception Wildflower Ranch Inn, 2-5 p.m.

Sunday, Oct. 17
Reception Wayside Expressions Gallery, 2-4 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 21
Guided Art Tour 21c Museum Hotel, 5-6 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 22
Artist Talk/Book Signing Downtown Arts Center City Gallery, 7-9 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 23
Free Portrait Session/Print Arts Alliance of Southern Indiana, 12-2 p.m. (or while supplies last)
Artist Reception Sojourn Arts, 4-6 p.m. (brief remarks at 4:30 p.m.)

Thursday, Oct. 28
Guided Art Tour 21c Museum Hotel, 5-6 p.m.
Concurrent receptions at 21c Museum Hotel, Moremen Gallery, and KMAC Museum with River City Tintype Portrait Sessions at 21c, 5-9 p.m.
Combined Appreciation Wrap Party fifteenTWELVE Creative Compound, 6-9 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 29
Artist Reception Grand Gallery 5-7 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 30
Closing Reception The Root, 9 a.m.-12 p.m.
Frankfort Field Trip with Festival Director Paul Paletti, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.

Sunday, Oct. 31
Closing Reception Surface Noise, 6-9 p.m.

November 2021

Thursday, Nov. 4
Guided Art Tour 21c Museum Hotel, 5-6 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 5
Opening Reception garner narrative First Friday, 6-9 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 6
Photography Workshop/Presentation by Daniel Dempster Mary Anderson Center Gallery, 9 a.m.-12 p.m.

Thursday, Nov. 11
Guided Art Tour 21c Museum Hotel, 5-6 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 12
Closing Reception Art Sanctuary 5:30-7 p.m.
Gallery Walk Headliners Music Hall, 6 p.m.
DoorWay Concert Headliners Music Hall doors, 7 p.m. / show 8 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 14
Closing Reception Brick Street Art Studios, 1 p.m.-4 p.m.

Workshops

Sunday, Oct. 16
Beginner DSLR Workshop with Kimara Wilhite at Bourne-Schweitzer Gallery, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 23
Free Portrait Session with Richard McWherter at Arts Alliance of Southern Indiana, 12-2 p.m. (while supplies last)

Saturday, Nov. 6
Photography Workshop with Daniel Dempster at Mary Anderson Center, 9 a.m.-12 p.m.