Psst… Local Art Makes Best Gifts

Poor Thanksgiving. It gets so little lovin’ because it’s a slippery slope of consumerism the minute Halloween candy is half price. That said, local visual and performing arts groups want in on that Christmas/Hanukkah/Festivus money too. Here’s a sampling of what’s happening during the holidays. Season’s greetings!

Blow Ho-Ho at Hyland Glass through Dec. 22, hylandglass.com.

“The Santaland Diaries” at Actors Theatre through Dec. 23, actorstheatre.org.

“Fifth Third Bank’s A Christmas Carol” at Actors Theatre through Dec. 23,
actorstheatre.org.

11th Annual Under $50 Art Show at Liberty Tattoo and Art Parlor through Dec. 28, libertytattooandart.com.

“Season’s Greetings” at Kentucky Fine Art Gallery through Dec. 31, lesliespetzcustomframing.com.

Blow-Your-Own at Flame Run through Jan. 1, flamerun.com.

ArtSeed Holiday Exhibit through Jan. 10, artseed.art.

“65 Years of White Christmas” at the Frazier History Museum through Jan. 26, fraziermuseum.org.

Martinis and Mistletoe at KMAC Museum on Dec. 5, kmacmuseum.org.

3rd Annual Louisville Krampus Celebration at Art Sanctuary on Dec. 5, art-sanctuary.org.

“Magic of Christmas Past”: Pipe Organ Concert and Silent Movie Presentation at Louisville Memorial Auditorium on Dec. 5, louisvillememorialauditorium.com.

“Handel’s Messiah” at the Louisville Orchestra on Dec. 5-8, louisvilleorchestra.org.

“Off the Wall” holiday show at PYRO Gallery on Dec. 5-28, pyrogallery.com.

29th Annual Winterfair! at Thomas Jefferson Unitarian Church on Dec. 6-7, tjuc.org.

Advertisement

“Holiday Memories: Truman Capote” at Bunbury Theatre on Dec. 6-22, bunburytheatre.org.

“The Winter Show” at CRAFT(s) Gallery and Mercantile on Dec. 6-31, craftslouisville.com.

The 2018 production of ‘The Nutcracker.’
Photo by Sam English.

Victorian Christmas Tea at Whitehall on Dec. 7, historicwhitehall.org.

“Christmastide 1816” at Locust Grove on Dec. 7, locustgrove.org.

Holiday Victorian Tea at the Conrad-Caldwell House Museum on Dec. 7-8, conradcaldwell.org.

Holiday Bazaar & Gift Sale — The Flea Off Market on Dec. 7-8, thefleaoffmarket.org.

Safe Holiday Celebration at Flame Run ($5 donated from Blow-Your-Own-Ornament to YMCA Safe Place Services) on Dec. 7-8, flamerun.com.

Old Louisville Holiday Home Tour on Dec. 7-8, oldlouisville.org.

“The Best Christmas Pageant Ever” at StageOne Family Theatre on Dec. 7, 14 and 21, stageone.org.

“A Classic Christmas” from the VOICES of Kentuckiana on Dec. 8, kentuckyperforming arts.org.

Umpteenth Annual $20 Art Show at Copper & Kings Distillery on Dec. 14, copperandkings.com.

Candlelight Christmas Tour at the Conrad-Caldwell House Museum on Dec. 14 and 21, conradcaldwell.org.

“The Brown-Forman Nutcracker” from the Louisville Ballet on Dec. 14-22, louisvilleballet.org.

28th Annual Holiday Bazaar at the Portland Museum on Dec. 15, portlandky.org.

“A Charlie Brown Christmas” at the Kentucky Center on Dec. 15, kentuckycenter.org.

About the Author

Psst… Local Art Makes Best Gifts

Jo Anne Triplett is the contributing visual arts editor at LEO Weekly. She’s a past member of the Mayor’s Advisory Committee on Public Art, was the content advisor on the Glassworks Building video, and has written for Louisville Magazine, Kentucky Homes and Gardens and the national publication Glass Craftsman. Jo Anne came to Louisville from Washington, D.C. where she worked as a researcher and writer for the Smithsonian American Art Museum.

 

 

All Articles by this Author >

Comments