That time of year
 to give local art

Poor Thanksgiving. It gets so little lovin’ because it’s a slippery slope of consumerism the minute Halloween candy is half price. That said, local visual and performing art groups want in on that Christmas/Hanukkah/Festivus money too. Here’s a sampling of what’s happening during the holidays. Season’s greetings!

“A Festival of Trees” at the Arts Alliance of Southern Indiana through Dec. 15, sointoart.org.

Blow-Ho-Ho at Hyland Glass through Dec. 22, hylandglass.com.

“A Kentucky Christmas at the Frazier” at the Frazier History Museum through Dec. 22, fraziermuseum.org.

“The Santaland Diaries” at Actors Theatre through Dec. 23, actorstheatre.org.

Fifth Third Bank’s “A Christmas Carol” at Actors Theatre through Dec. 23, actorstheatre.org.

Holiday sale at The Little Loomhouse through Dec. 29, littleloomhouse.org.

Blow-Your-Own at Flame Run through Jan. 1, flamerun.com.

Nov. 23 “Black Friday” F.A.T. Friday Trolley Hop,
frankfortave.com.

Annual Holiday Pottery Sale by LOCALS on Nov. 23-24, louisvillepotters.org.

10th Annual Under $50 Art Show at Liberty Tattoo and Art Parlor on Nov. 23-Dec. 29,
libertytattooandart.com.

Small Business Saturday on Nov. 24 including sale at Kaviar Forge and Gallery,
craigkaviargallery.com.

“Home for the Holidays” at the Louisville Orchestra on Nov. 24, louisvilleorchestra.org.

“Handel’s Messiah” by Bourbon Baroque and Variant 6 on Nov. 24 and 25, bourbonbaroque.com.

“Magic of Christmas Past”: Pipe Organ Concert and Silent Movie Presentation at Louisville Memorial Auditorium on Nov. 26 and 28,
louisvillememorialauditorium.com.

“Handel’s Messiah” by the Louisville Orchestra on Nov. 29-30 and Dec. 1, louisvilleorchestra.org.

“Amahl and the Night Visitors” by the Kentucky Opera on Nov. 30, kyopera.org.

28th Annual Winterfair! at Thomas Jefferson Unitarian Church on Nov. 30-Dec. 1, tjuc.org.

“Greetings!” at Bunbury Theatre on Nov. 30-Dec. 16,
bunburytheatre.org.

Moscow Ballet’s Great Russian “Nutcracker” at Louisville Memorial Auditorium on Dec. 1, louisvillememorialauditorium.com.

Victoria Christmas Tea at Whitehall on Dec. 1, historicwhitehall.org.

Advertisement

CJ’s Christmas Art Party (open to the public with art for sale) on Dec. 1, cjfletcher.com.

Holiday Victorian Tea at the Conrad-Caldwell House Museum on Dec. 1-2, conradcaldwell.org.

Old Louisville Holiday Home Tour on Dec. 1-2, oldlouisville.org.

“Tidings of Comfort and Joy: Christmas Postcards and Their Surprising Contexts” at the Conrad-Caldwell House Museum on Dec. 6,
conradcaldwell.org.

Martinis and Mistletoe at KMAC Museum on Dec. 6,
kmacmuseum.org.

Dec. 7 Republic Bank First Friday Hop, firstfridayhop.com.

Holiday Open House at E&S Gallery on Dec. 7, eandsgallery.com.

“Christmas on Historic South 4th” at CRAFT(s) Gallery and Mercantile on Dec. 7-30,
craftslouisville.com.

Winter Wonderland Ornament Show at Revelry Boutique Gallery on Dec. 7-Jan. 1, revelrygallery.com.

“Christmastide 1816” at Locust Grove on Dec. 8, locustgrove.org.

Umpteenth Annual $20 Art Show at Copper and Kings on Dec. 8, copperandkings.com.

Safe Holiday Celebration at Flame Run ($5 donated from Blow-Your-Own-Ornament to YMCA Safe Place Services) on Dec. 8-9, flamerun.com.

“The Brown-Forman  Nutcracker” at the Louisville Ballet on Dec. 8-23,
louisvilleballet.org.

“RED and GREEN, An Electric Holiday Celebration” by the VOICES of Kentuckiana on Dec. 9, kentuckycenter.org.

“Holiday Magic” by the Louisville Master Chorale and the Louisville Youth Orchestra on Dec. 9,
louisvillemasterchorale.org.

Candlelight Christmas Tour at the Conrad-Caldwell House Museum on Dec. 13 and 20,
conradcaldwell.org.

After Hours at the Speed on Dec. 14 is featuring a holiday pop-up shop, speedmuseum.org.

Christmas with the Kory Caudill Quintet, featuring Chester Thompson at the Kentucky Center on Dec. 15,
kentuckycenter.org.

The Flea Off Market 6th Annual Indoor Holiday Bazaar on Dec. 15-16,
thefleaoffmarket.org.

“The Best Christmas Pageant Ever!” at StageOne Family Theatre on Dec. 15-22, stageone.org.

Christmas Tea at Louisville Memorial Auditorium on Dec. 16, louisvillememorialauditorium.com. •

About the Author

That time of year
 to give local art

Jo Anne Triplett is the contributing visual arts editor at LEO Weekly. She’s a past member of the Mayor’s Advisory Committee on Public Art, was the content advisor on the Glassworks Building video, and has written for Louisville Magazine, Kentucky Homes and Gardens and the national publication Glass Craftsman. Jo Anne came to Louisville from Washington, D.C. where she worked as a researcher and writer for the Smithsonian American Art Museum.

 

 

All Articles by this Author >

Comments