Literary LEO 2013

It’s no surprise that LEO readers are a creative lot, and for the past two decades, we’ve counted on you to share your talents by submitting works to our annual Literary LEO contest. Once again, you did not disappoint, turning in hundreds of written and photographic works for consideration. In the following pages you’ll find the best of the best as determined through a blind judging of this year’s entries.

Thanks to the writers and photographers who participated, and a special thanks to this year’s cadre of esteemed judges, all of whom are accomplished authors/artists in their own right: Erin Keane (poetry); Jeremy Morris (fiction); Hillary Harrison (something different); and Mary Yates (photography).

As always, all are invited to celebrate the winners during a special Literary LEO event this evening from 6-9 p.m. at Spalding University’s Egan Leadership Center (see this week’s Staffpicks for more details).